

# **ACORN QLD In. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES**

## Minutes for meeting held: Saturday October 15, 2022

Our Mission: To engage and empower our members to advance and promote excellence in perioperative practice through all professional standards.

Quorum – as per the Constitution 33.1 the number of full members and life members (see section 34.2) present that is equal to double the number of management committee members in office at the time plus one (1).

1. **Meeting opened** by the president Joy Jensen at: 1307 hours

## 2. Approval of agenda

Proposed: Joy Jensen Seconded: Simone Ohlin

No additions made to the agenda

Vote called: Approved

#### 3. Attendees

Joy Jensen
Kathryn Herrick
Caitlin Knell
Simone Ohlin
Belinda McEvoy
Kathy Flanigan
Craig Gater
Ann-Maree Layton
Jeanette Dixon
Emma Farley

David Macklyn
Amy Corbet
Judith Hewett
Lindsay Young
Leanne Schubert
Ailsa McKitterick-Gillett
Cheryl Liquorish
Jeanette Appel-Burford
Elaine Loots (nonmember)

Stephen Born
Ruth Melville
Amanda Buckman
Julianne Eather
Sue Pritchard
Vicki Livett
Bec East
Donna Stevens
Angela Hand
Maritza Harvey

## 4. Apologies

Lyn Hill Narelle Somerfeld Bridget Gillespie Justine Vost

# 5. Confirmation of minutes from 2021 annual general meeting

Accepted: Caitlin Knell

Seconded: Ann-Maree Layton

No amendments made to the minutes

Vote called: approved

# 6. Standing business items

#### 7. Acknowledgement of life members present

Joy Jensen, Ruth Melville, Judith Hewett

#### 8. Identification of new life member/s

Joanne Hodges, Rae Guyder

# ACORN AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF PERIOPERATIVE NURSES OUEENSLAND

#### **ACORN QLD In. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES**

## 9. President's report

Joy Jensen tabled the 2022 president's report as published on ACORN QLD website

Accepted: David Macklyn Seconded: Ruth Melville Vote called: Accepted

#### 10. Secretary's report

Joy Jensen tabled the 2022 secretary's report as published on ACORN QLD website

Accepted: Simone Ohlin Seconded: Stephen Born Vote called: Accepted

#### Correspondence

Nominations received for board membership:

• Angela Hand

#### 11. Financial statement

Current membership – 735 (including 10 life members)

Caitlin Knell presented the 2021/2022 financial statement as published on ACORN QLD website:

Accepted: Julianne EatherSeconded: Maritza HarveyVote called: accepted

#### 12. Presentation of auditor's report

Caitlin Knell tabled the 2022 audited financial report as per the 2021-2022 annual report as published on ACORN QLD website:

Accepted: Cheryl LiquorishSeconded: Stephen BornVote called: accepted

# 13. Appointment of auditor

Caitlin Knell proposed Wilson & Wilson Accountants to be the auditors for the next financial period.

Accepted: Simone OhlinSeconded: Angela HandVote called: accepted

#### 14. ACORN Director report

Joy Jensen presented the ACORN Director report on behalf of Justine Vost and proposed that per diem payments to ACORN Director continue.

Accepted: Julianne EatherSeconded: Angela HandVote called: accepted

ACORN CEO Rebecca East was invited to address the floor:

ACORN strategic plan

Governance transition

# ACORN AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF PERIOPERATIVE NURSES

# **ACORN QLD In. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES**

- ACORN standards due to be released late this year and early next year
- Continuing education Anaesthetic on-line course
- Member benefits

#### 15. Thank you to the outgoing board members:

- Caitlin Knell
- Danielle Torrisi

#### 16. Election of general ACORN Qld Inc. management committee positions

16.1 Resignation of board members as per the constitution:

- Danielle Torrisi (general member)
- Caitlin Knell (Treasurer)
- Joy Jensen (President)
- 16.2 President Joy Jensen nominated for President. Discussion ensued as to this not being decided at this meeting but at the first board meeting as per the constitution.
- 16.3 Treasurer as per constitution will be decided at the first board meeting.
- 16.4 General committee positions:

Nominations were received from:

- Angela Hand prior to October 15
- Ann-Maree Layton on day
- Joy Jensen (president nominee) on day
- Julianne Eather on day
- Maritza Harvey on day
- Simone Ohlin Prior to October

Joy Jensen proposed that these people be elected onto the ACORN Qld management committee and join existing members.

Accepted: BelindaMcEvy Seconded: Stephen Born Vote called: Accepted

#### Existing board members:

- Kathryn Herrick (Secretary)
- Belinda McEvoy

#### 17. Next meeting:

October 2023 - to be confirmed

18. Meeting closed: 1331 hours